How to Avoid Social Media Regret

social media regret

In case you haven’t noticed (we’re sure you have), social media isn’t going anywhere any time soon. It’s a daily part of most people’s lives these days, and that’s even truer in high school. Between Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, and a hundred other apps, there’s a lot to keep up with, a lot to pay attention to, and a lot of interaction going on with every snap sent and every moment that you “do it for the gram.” Unfortunately, with the ease at which we can share every aspect of our daily lives on these platforms, sometimes we post and share things we regret later. To avoid social media regret here are a few things to consider.

Think Before You Post

It’s so, so easy to just….click and post. Without thinking twice. We’re not saying you need to agonize over the decision to post or not to post, but it’s worth taking a second to look things over before you send a photo to your Insta story, or put someone on blast without really wanting to deal with the consequences. Because once it’s posted, it’s out there, and the reactions can start rolling in at any second. To avoid social media regret, simply press pause before you hit publish, and you may find your social media anxiety decreasing greatly.

Consider The Bigger Picture

Take a step back. It might feel necessary, or huge, or life-altering in the moment, but in the grand scheme of things, is it something you need to do? Is taking the time out to share this on social media going to interrupt you actually experiencing something with the people you love? Are the likes worth a truly missed moment? Is there a way to capture the moment and consider sharing it later? Will it matter as much in 20 minutes? A day? A week? Sometimes a little perspective is needed to avoid social media mistakes that you can’t really come back from. That goes for impulse-deleting an account you’ve spent time and energy building, while we’re at it. Sometimes social media is a wonderful expression of creativity, and if you’ve built a community, you might want to think twice before getting rid of the account in the heat of the moment.

There Isn’t a REAL “Delete” Button

We know you know, but it’s worth saying, because people are still making social media decisions they are regretting on the daily. Once you post something – it’s out there. The receipts will be filed and even if you take it down, there is no guarantee that someone didn’t screenshot it, or repost it, or send it to their friends. The moment you post something or share on social media, you’re opening yourself up to a lifetime of having to deal with that thing. Deleting things just doesn’t have the same weight it once did, especially not in a world that’s very, very interested in spilling the tea and making sure you get called out when you’ve messed up. Save yourself the drama, and the emotional turmoil, and be SURE you’re comfortable standing by what you’re posting.

Look, we’re all humans. We all make mistakes, but the issue with making those mistakes in front of the world wide web as an audience is that there can be clapbacks for days, months, and years to come. It’s not that you have to delete all your accounts and never share a thing again. That’s not the way the world works, that’s not the way we’re accustomed to connecting. And besides, there’s a lot of good that comes along with social media and all it offers. All we’re saying is, take a break. Take a moment, take a deep breath, and double-check your words, your images, and your feelings before you send that content out there. You’ll be glad you did and you will more likely avoid social media regret.